Tag Archives: WIlo

CIBSE Ireland ‘Florida Scramble’ Success

Overall winners — Alan Hogan, Heat Merchants with Team Winthrop Engineering members Michael Murray, Donal Clavin, Barry Hennesy and Darren Kavanagh.

This year’s primary gold sponsor was Heat Merchants, with Wilo (longest drive) and Mitsubishi Electric (nearest the pin) the two silver sponsors, and a broad cross-section of the industry sponsoring all of the individual tee boxes.

The decision to have a holiday voucher to the value of €1000 for the hole-in-one competition made for great excitement as each of the 104 golfers on the day knew that one of them was going to go home very much in the holiday mood. As it happened, Brian Harrison was the lucky winner and Alan Hogan of Heat Merchants on hand to make the presentation during the after-golf meal.

Indeed, an additional benefit of the Florida Scramble format is that virtually everyone stays on for the meal and presentation of prizes so the atmosphere is electric right up to the departure of everyone at approximately 7pm.

Apart of their generous overall sponsorship, Heat Merchant’ prize selection was also excellent and went down very well with all the winners.

Given the beautiful weather and near-perfect condition of the course, scoring was high with Winthrop Engineering emerging triumphant to claim first prize and the much-coveted PJ Doyle Perpetual Trophy. Second was the Air Movement team with Unitherm coming in third.

Longest drive was won by Declan Sherlock of Team Air Movement while Mark Fallon of the Team Heat Merchants A  won nearest the pin.

All credit to the CIBSE Ireland team on the day for making it such a special occasion, and particularly Declan Kissane who handled the registration and scoring, and then acted as MC for the evening.

Adam Dent of the CIBSE Ireland Committee made the presentations as Chairman Paul Martin, who was present for most of the day, unfortunately could not make the presentations.



CIBSE Scramble at Castleknock GC

CIBSE Pic 1As always the CIBSE Annual Golf Outing proved a major success with 56 golfers, going out in four-ball teams, competing for the PJ Doyle Trophy. Format was scramble. Castleknock Golf Club was once again the venue and the beautiful weather, coupled with the excellent condition of the course, made for a most enjoyable day.

Serious golfers lined up with occasional golfers in competing teams and, while all were intent on winning, the emphasis was on fun and networking. That said, most golfers had their minds firmly set on winning the new Ford Kuga car on the 18th hole. This was sponsored by Unitherm Heating Systems.

Other sponsors were Wilo Engineering, tee-box and goody bags; Daikin, golf balls; and Kedington Group, nearest the pin prize.

Kingspan, Heatmerchants, Hevac, Mercury Engineering, Flogas, Dowd Energy, Firebird all sponsored tee-boxes.

Results                                                                                                                                                         Winners: Team Mr Vent – Richard Gladney, Brian Curtin, Dillon Brophy and Alan Geraghty.

Second: Team Jones Engineering – Fergus Weldrick, Alan Lynch, Noel Kelly and Darren Murphy.

Third: Team Ideal Standard — Martin OʼReilly, Terry Fitzgerald, Trevor Callaghan and John Murphy.

Nearest the pin: Brian Curtin

Longest drive: Alan Geraghty

Inside-the-Pro: There were seven people who won a prize for In-side-the-Pro on the 18th hole.